fbpx Natural Areas Conservation Training N-ACT Program | The Morton Arboretum

Natural Areas Conservation Training N-ACT Program

Learn the identification skills to manage, restore, or simply enjoy prairie habitats at The Morton Arboretum. (Registration opens May 21, 2019) Three Tuesdays, July 9 through July 23, 2019, 6:00 to 8:00 p.m.
Learn to identify and manage the most common invasive plants in the Great Lakes region at The Morton Arboretum. Online class available on May 8, 2019.
Learn to identify the common trees you see in local preserves or in your neighborhood at The Morton Arboretum. Thursday, June 6, 2019, 6:30 to 9:00 p.m.; Thursday, July 18, 2019, 9:00 to 11:30 a.m.; or Saturday, September 7, 2019, 8:00 to 10:30 a.m.
Learn how to safely use herbicides to benefit natural areas management at The Morton Arboretum. Saturday, March 23, 2019, 9:00 a.m. to noon. This class will be offered again in Winter 2020.
Strengthen your skills leading volunteers in natural areas management with this interactive primer for volunteer stewardship activity planning, group dynamics, safety, and volunteer empowerment at The Morton Arboretum. This class will be offered again in Fall 2019. Registration will open Tuesday, August 20, 2019.
First Aid and CPR class will teach you the skills you need to keep yourself and others safe while working at The Morton Arboretum. Thursday, February 7, 2019, or Sunday, February 10, 2019, 10:00 a.m. to 2:00 p.m.
Learn to identify the trees you see every day in the woodlands and neighborhoods of the Chicago region at The Morton Arboretum. Friday, August 2, 2019, 12:00 p.m.: Online materials become available. Friday, August 9, 2019, 10:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.: In person session meets. OR Friday, September 6, 2019, 12:00 p.m.: Online materials become available. Saturday, September 14, 2019, 10:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.: In person session meets
Learn to effectively and efficiently use the tools of the trade to tackle different restoration jobs at The Morton Arboretum. Tuesday, July 9, 2019, 12:00 p.m.: Online materials become available. Tuesday, July 16, 2019, 6:30 to 8:30 p.m: In-person session at Thornhill Education Center, OR Tuesday, September 10, 2019, 12:00 p.m.: Online materials become available. Tuesday, September 17, 2019, 6:30 to 8:30 p.m: In-person session at Thornhill Education Center
Explore the concepts, management planning, and desired results in the use of prescribed fire for ecological restoration at The Morton Arboretum. (Canceled) Saturday, October 15, 2016, 10:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.
Learn to identify and manage the most common invasive plants in the Great Lakes region at The Morton Arboretum. Dates vary starting Wednesday, July 17, 2019

Page controls