Natural Areas Conservation Training Program

Natural Areas Conservation Training Program

Learn to identify the grasses that add beauty and interest to the summer and fall landscape at The Morton Arboretum. Two days: Thursday, September 13, and Friday, September 14, 2018, 9:00 a.m.to 4:00 p.m.
Learn to identify the trees you see every day in the woodlands and neighborhoods of the Chicago region at The Morton Arboretum. (SOLD OUT) Saturday, September 15, 2018, 9:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.
Get the botany basics you need to identify plants at The Morton Arboretum. In-person only meets: Online only begins:Tuesday, November 27, 2018. 2019 dates vary starting February 12 through June 9 with online or in-person options available.
Learn the names and ecology of the wildflowers that cover the woodland floor in spring at The Morton Arboretum. This class will be offered again in April 2019. Registration will open February 2019.
Discover the principles and practice of ecosystem restoration at The Morton Arboretum. (SOLD OUT) Online component begins: October 26, 2018. In person component: Two Saturdays, Nov 3 and 10, 2018, 9:00 a.m. to 12:30 p.m. This class will be offered again in April 2019. Registration will open Tuesday, February 19, 2019
(SOLD OUT) Learn spring methods for propagating your favorite native plants at The Morton Arboretum.Sunday, March 18, 2018, 12:30 to 3:30 p.m. New section added for 8:30 to 11:30 a.m.
Learn about the New Invaders Watch Program and how to get involved in monitoring and reporting invasive plants that are new to our region at The Morton Arboretum. Wednesday, May 2, 2018, 6:00 p.m. to 8:00 p.m.
Learn to identify plants without leaves or flowers at The Morton Arboretum. Saturday, March 3, 2018, 8:00 a.m. to noon.
Learn how and when to collect seeds from your favorite native plants at The Morton Arboretum. Sunday, October 14, 2018, 8:30 to noon or 1:00 to 4:30 p.m.
Chicago Wilderness will offer three winter sessions of the Midwest Ecological Prescription Burn Crew Member Training class at The Morton Arboretum. Two days: Thursday, October 4, and Friday, October 5; or Saturday, October 13 and Sunday, October 14, 2018, 8:00 a.m. to 3:00 p.m.

Page controls