fbpx Professional Development | The Morton Arboretum

Professional Development

Professional development

Learn the essentials of wetland ecology and the vital management techniques necessary to maintain threatened wetland ecosystems at The Morton Arboretum. Two days: Wednesday, July 10, 6:30 to 8:30 p.m., and Saturday, July 13, 2019 8:00 a.m. to 12:00 p.m.
Learn the names and ecology of the wildflowers, sedges, rushes, and other plants that inhabit wetlands at The Morton Arboretum. Saturday, June 29, 2019, 9:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.
Learn to identify the grasses that add beauty and interest to the summer and fall landscape at The Morton Arboretum. (SOLD OUT) Two days: Tuesday, September 10, and Wednesday, September 11, 2019, 9:00 a.m.to 4:00 p.m.
Ornamental plant breeders, horticulture marketing experts, and gardening brands come together Thursday, October 6-Sunday, October 9 (welcome reception on Thursday, October 6, 6:00 to 9:00 p.m.) to connect face to face and share information to get new plants into the industry at The Morton Arboretum.
The Chicago Region Trees Initiative has developed a full day, hands on training event for non-forestry professionals who work with trees. Basic Urban Forestry Workshop: Tuesday April 9, 2019 8:30 a.m. to 3:30 p.m., and/or Basic Chainsaw Workshop: Wednesday, April 10, 3019, 8:30 a.m. to 1:30 p.m.
Explore how special natural places can inspire future generations with author Kathryn Aalto at The Morton Arboretum. (Sold out) Wednesday, March 9, 11:30 a.m.-1:00 p.m.
Dr. Chuck Cannon, Director of the Center for Tree Science at The Morton Arboretum will invite you to explore how the scientists in the Center for Tree Science work to catalyze research and training for the future of trees and people. Wednesday, February 24, 11:30 a.m.-1:00 p.m.
Discover how the Emerald Ash Borer (EAB) has impacted local ash trees at The Morton Arboretum. Wednesday, February 10, 2016, 11:30 a.m.-1:00 p.m.
Explore the botany of your favorite culinary indulgences at The Morton Arboretum. Wednesday, January 27, 2016, 11:30 a.m.-1:00 p.m.
Learn to recognize tree and shrub problems through observing the life-cycles, signs, and symptoms of the most common pests in our landscapes at The Morton Arboretum. Six days: 5 Tuesdays, February 28 through March 28, 2017, 6:30 to 9:00 p.m., and Saturday, March 25, 2017, 1:00 to 3:30 p.m. Thornhill Education Center

Page controls