Trees and Ecology

Natural history

In this intensive workshop, enjoy the spring warbler migration while learning about identification, arrival dates, migration patterns, habitat preferences, and daily feeding techniques at The Morton Arboretum. Two days: Wednesday, May 2, 6:30 to 8:30 p.m., and Sunday, May 6, 2018, 8:00 a.m. to noon
Do experiments indoors and out at The Morton Arboretum to earn your Environmental Science Merit Badge. Two Sundays, September 23 and October 28, or Two Sundays, October 7 and November 11, 2018, 10:00 a.m. to 2:00 p.m.
Learn to identify plants without leaves or flowers at The Morton Arboretum. Saturday, March 3, 2018, 8:00 a.m. to noon.
Improve your plant identification skills by learning characteristics of plant families at The Morton Arboretum. (SOLD OUT) Saturday, February 3, 8:00 a.m. to noon
Learn the basics of beekeeping at The Morton Arboretum. Four Thursdays, February 7 through 28, 2019, 6:30 to 8:30 p.m. (Registration opens November 20, 2019)
Learn how and when to collect seeds from your favorite native plants at The Morton Arboretum. Sunday, October 14, 2018, 8:30 to noon or 1:00 to 4:30 p.m.
Celebrate the autumn equinox with an after-hours tram ride through the Arboretum. Thursday, September 20, or Friday, September 21, 2018, 7:30 to 9:30 p.m.
Learn how to identify the sparrows found along woodland edges, wetlands, and grasslands at The Morton Arboretum. Two days: Tuesday, September 26, 7:00 to 9:00 p.m., and Saturday, September 30, 2017, 8:00 a.m. to noon
Learn the identifying characteristics of local shorebirds. Learn the types and characteristics of shorebirds found in northern Illinois in the classroom, then spend a morning searching local hotspots to identify these birds in the field. Two days: Thursday, August 16, 6:30 to 8:30 p.m., and Saturday, August 18, 2018, 8:00 to noon.
Study the special ecological and evolutionary relationships between plants and animals at The Morton Arboretum. Wednesdays, September 12 through December 5, 2018, 6:30 to 9:30 p.m., and select Saturdays, September 29 through November 10, 2018, 9:00 a.m. to noon.

Page controls