fbpx Trees and Nature | The Morton Arboretum

Trees and Nature

Natural history

Explore the world underground at The Morton Arboretum. Mondays, 6:00 to 8:00 p.m. and every other Saturday, 9:00 a.m. to 1:00 p.m., January 28 through April 29, 2019.
Learn to save your own seeds in this hands-on workshop at The Morton Arboretum. Saturday, January 26, 2019, 9:00 to 11:00 a.m.
Explore the profound importance of plants in our lives and their essential role for life on earth through an autobiographical account by Stephen Blackmore, Queen’s Botanist, and Chairman of Botanic Gardens Conservation International at The Morton Arboretum. (Registration is now closed) Friday, October 28, 2016 2:00 to 3:00 p.m.
Learn to identify the trees you see every day in the woodlands and neighborhoods of the Chicago region at The Morton Arboretum. Friday, August 2, 2019, 12:00 p.m.: Online materials become available. Friday, August 9, 2019, 10:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.: In person session meets. OR Friday, September 6, 2019, 12:00 p.m.: Online materials become available. Saturday, September 14, 2019, 10:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.: In person session meets
Learn to effectively and efficiently use the tools of the trade to tackle different restoration jobs at The Morton Arboretum. Tuesday, July 9, 2019, 12:00 p.m.: Online materials become available. Tuesday, July 16, 2019, 6:30 to 8:30 p.m: In-person session at Thornhill Education Center, OR Tuesday, September 10, 2019, 12:00 p.m.: Online materials become available. Tuesday, September 17, 2019, 6:30 to 8:30 p.m: In-person session at Thornhill Education Center
Learn to identify and manage the most common invasive plants in the Great Lakes region at The Morton Arboretum. Dates vary starting Wednesday, July 17, 2019
Discover the names of the wildflowers covering the prairie and forest floor in fall at The Morton Arboretum. (Canceled) Saturday, September 24, 2016, 9:00 a.m. to 1:00 p.m.
Illinois is nicknamed "The Prairie State." Yet, what is a tallgrass prairie, and why does prairie matter? Saturday, December 3, 2016, 1:30 to 3:30 p.m.
Join this tram ride for spooky tales after dark with naturalist Cindy Crosby at The Morton Arboretum. Wednesday, October 26, 2016, 7:00 to 9:00 p.m.
Strap on your running shoes for an informative running tour of the Arboretum. Saturday, March 24, 2018, 8:00 to 9:30 a.m.

Page controls