fbpx Trees and Nature | The Morton Arboretum

Trees and Nature

Natural history

Gain a new perspective on familiar settings with the chance to see what happens in the Arboretum at night when no one is around. NEW DATE: Thursday, April 4, 2019, 7:00 to 9:00 p.m.
How do animals decide that it is time to migrate? How do they prepare for their perilous journeys? Explore the Arboretum at night as we search for answers to questions about migration. Two Tuesdays, September 17 and 24, 2019, 6:30 to 9:30 p.m.
The Chicago Region Trees Initiative has developed a full day, hands on training event for non-forestry professionals who work with trees. Basic Urban Forestry Workshop: Tuesday April 9, 2019 8:30 a.m. to 3:30 p.m., and/or Basic Chainsaw Workshop: Wednesday, April 10, 3019, 8:30 a.m. to 1:30 p.m.
Wander through the ever-changing array of blooms in our woodlands and prairie to learn how to identify wildflowers such as trillium, mayapple, and dog-tooth violet and hear about their folklore at The Morton Arboretum. Thursday, April 18, Friday, April 26, or Saturday, May 4, 2019, 8:30 to 11:00 a.m.
Learn the names and ecology of the wildflowers that cover the woodland floor in spring at The Morton Arboretum. Registration will open February 19, 2019, for April classes.
Discover the principles and practice of ecosystem restoration at The Morton Arboretum. (CANCELED) Thursday, July 11, 2019, 12:00 p.m.: Online materials become available. Saturday July 20, and Saturday, July 27, 2019, 9:00 a.m. to 12:30 p.m. This class will be offered again in the fall of 2019.
Learn spring methods for propagating your favorite native plants at The Morton Arboretum.Sunday, March 10, 2019, 1:00 to 4:30 p.m. This class will be offered again in Winter 2020.
Learn about the New Invaders Watch Program and how to get involved in monitoring and reporting invasive plants that are new to our region at The Morton Arboretum. Tuesday, May 21, 2019, 6:30 p.m. to 8:00 p.m.
In this focused workshop, enjoy the spring warbler migration while learning about identification, arrival dates, migration patterns, habitat preferences, and daily feeding techniques at The Morton Arboretum. Three days: Wednesday, May 1, 6:30 to 8:30 p.m., and Fridays, May 3 and 10, 2019, 8:00 to 11:30 a.m.
Explore how special natural places can inspire future generations with author Kathryn Aalto at The Morton Arboretum. (Sold out) Wednesday, March 9, 11:30 a.m.-1:00 p.m.

Page controls