fbpx Trees and Nature | The Morton Arboretum

Trees and Nature

Natural history

Learn about the New Invaders Watch Program and how to get involved in monitoring and reporting invasive plants that are new to our region at The Morton Arboretum. Tuesday, May 21, 2019, 6:30 p.m. to 8:00 p.m.
In this focused workshop, enjoy the spring warbler migration while learning about identification, arrival dates, migration patterns, habitat preferences, and daily feeding techniques at The Morton Arboretum. Three days: Wednesday, May 1, 6:30 to 8:30 p.m., and Fridays, May 3 and 10, 2019, 8:00 to 11:30 a.m.
Explore how special natural places can inspire future generations with author Kathryn Aalto at The Morton Arboretum. (Sold out) Wednesday, March 9, 11:30 a.m.-1:00 p.m.
Dr. Chuck Cannon, Director of the Center for Tree Science at The Morton Arboretum will invite you to explore how the scientists in the Center for Tree Science work to catalyze research and training for the future of trees and people. Wednesday, February 24, 11:30 a.m.-1:00 p.m.
Discover how the Emerald Ash Borer (EAB) has impacted local ash trees at The Morton Arboretum. Wednesday, February 10, 2016, 11:30 a.m.-1:00 p.m.
Explore the botany of your favorite culinary indulgences at The Morton Arboretum. Wednesday, January 27, 2016, 11:30 a.m.-1:00 p.m.
Learn to identify common trees that are highlights of the winter landscape at The Morton Arboretum. (Canceled) Saturday, February 11, 2017, 9:00 a.m. to 12:30 p.m.
Practice correct pruning techniques and learn which plants to prune now and more importantly, which to prune later at The Morton Arboretum. Online component begins: Friday, February 15, or Thursday, February 28, 2019, and In-person components meets: Saturday, February 23, or Friday, March 8, 2019, 9:00 to 11:30 a.m.
Learn to identify plants without leaves or flowers at The Morton Arboretum. Saturday, March 2, 2019, 8:00 a.m. to noon
Explore the meaning and importance of biodiversity and its implications for natural area restoration, habitat management, and conservation of endangered species at The Morton Arboretum. 3 Wednesdays, February 17-March 2, 2016, 6:30-9:00 p.m.

Page controls