Trees and Nature

Natural history

Learn to effectively and efficiently use the tools of the trade to tackle different restoration jobs at The Morton Arboretum. Tuesday, July 9, 2019, 12:00 p.m.: Online materials become available. Tuesday, July 16, 2019, 6:30 to 8:30 p.m: In-person session at Thornhill Education Center, OR Tuesday, September 10, 2019, 12:00 p.m.: Online materials become available. Tuesday, September 17, 2019, 6:30 to 8:30 p.m: In-person session at Thornhill Education Center
Discover the names of the wildflowers covering the prairie and forest floor in fall at The Morton Arboretum. (Canceled) Saturday, September 24, 2016, 9:00 a.m. to 1:00 p.m.
Illinois is nicknamed "The Prairie State." Yet, what is a tallgrass prairie, and why does prairie matter? Saturday, December 3, 2016, 1:30 to 3:30 p.m.
Join this tram ride for spooky tales after dark with naturalist Cindy Crosby at The Morton Arboretum. Wednesday, October 26, 2016, 7:00 to 9:00 p.m.
Strap on your running shoes for an informative running tour of the Arboretum. Saturday, March 24, 2018, 8:00 to 9:30 a.m.
Delight in the changing seasons during this educational walk among the Arboretum’s trees. (Canceled) Sundays, October 23 or 30, 2016, 1:00 p.m. to 3:30 p.m.
Learn the essentials of wetland ecology and the vital management techniques necessary to maintain threatened wetland ecosystems at The Morton Arboretum. Two days: Wednesday, July 10, 6:30 to 8:30 p.m., and Saturday, July 13, 2019 8:00 a.m. to 12:00 p.m.
Learn principles and practices for managing critical habitats at The Morton Arboretum. Wednesday, May 22, 2019, noon: U.S. Central time: Online materials become available. Saturday, June 1, 9:00 a.m. to 1:00 p.m., meet at Lake in the Hills Fen, and Sunday, June 9, 9:00 a.m. to 1:00 p.m., meet at Pleasant Valley Conservation area,
Learn the identification skills to manage, restore, or simply enjoy prairie habitats at The Morton Arboretum. Two Tuesdays, July 19 through 26, 2016, and Thursday, July 21, 2016, 6:30 to 8:30 p.m.
Learn the names and ecology of the wildflowers, sedges, rushes, and other plants that inhabit wetlands at The Morton Arboretum. Saturday, June 29, 2019, 9:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.

Page controls