Conservation and Restoration

Course List

  • Learn about the New Invaders Watch Program and how to get involved in monitoring and reporting invasive plants that are new to our region at The Morton Arboretum. Wednesday, May 2, 2018, 6:00 p.m. to 8:00 p.m.
  • Get the botany basics you need to identify plants at The Morton Arboretum. New Online section added: Registration closes at 11:59 p.m., Wednesday, March 14, 2018. Online component begins: Thursday, March 15, 2018. Winter sessions start Sunday, May 6 for In-person only or Friday, June 1 for online only section.
  • Learn the names and ecology of the wildflowers that cover the woodland floor in spring at The Morton Arboretum. Online component begins: Friday, April 20, 2018 In person component: Friday, May 4 or Saturday, May 5, 2018, 10:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.
  • Learn to identify and manage the most common invasive plants in the Great Lakes region at The Morton Arboretum. Online component begins: Friday, May 11, 2018. In-person component: Saturday, May 19, 2018, 9:00 a.m. to 12:30 p.m.
  • Get the botany basics you need to identify plants at The Morton Arboretum. New Online section added: Registration closes at 11:59 p.m., Wednesday, March 14, 2018. Online component begins: Thursday, March 15, 2018. Winter sessions start Sunday, May 6 for In-person only or Friday, June 1 for online only section.
  • This is the story of an artist's love affair with a piece of land, and the birds, animals, and plants that inhabit it. Join us at The Morton Arboretum on Friday June 8, 2018, 7:00 to 8:30 p.m.
  • Learn to effectively and efficiently use the tools of the trade to tackle different restoration jobs at The Morton Arboretum. Online component begins: Tuesday, June 5, 2018. In-person component meets: Tuesday, June 12, 6:30 to 8:30 p.m.
  • Learn to effectively and efficiently use the tools of the trade to tackle different restoration jobs at The Morton Arboretum. Online component begins: Tuesday, June 5, 2018. In-person component meets: Tuesday, June 12, 6:30 to 8:30 p.m.
  • Learn how to tell invasive aquatic plants apart from native look-alikes and how to report invaders when you find them in this one-day workshop at The Morton Arboretum. Saturday June 30, 2018, 12:30 to 4:30 p.m.
  • Learn the names and ecology of the wildflowers, sedges, rushes, and other plants that inhabit wetlands at The Morton Arboretum. Saturday, June 23, 2018, 9:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.
  • Learn to identify the trees you see every day in the woodlands and neighborhoods of the Chicago region at The Morton Arboretum. This class will be offered again in July 2018. Registration will open Tuesday, May 22, 2018.
  • Learn the essentials of wetland ecology and the vital management techniques necessary to maintain threatened wetland ecosystems at The Morton Arboretum. This class will be offered again in August 2018. Registration will open Tuesday, May 22, 2018.
  • Learn principles and practices for managing critical habitats at The Morton Arboretum. This class will be offered again in August 2018. Registration will open Tuesday, May 22, 2018.
  • Identify and apply short and long term restoration activities to enhance wildlife habitat at The Morton Arboretum. Saturday, November 18, 2017, 10:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.