Center for Tree Science Steering Committee

Composed of leaders in tree science, this committee guides the scientific objectives of the Center, sets specific targets for research and training endeavors, and assists in encouraging collaborators and tree experts to become involved with the Center for Tree Science.  For more on the Center for Tree Science, click here.


Robert Bartlett, Jr.

Chairman and CEO

Bartlett Tree Expert Company

Stamford, Connecticut


Jeannine Cavender-Bares

Associate Professor

University of Minnesota, Department of Ecology, Evolution, and Behavior

Minneapolis, Minnesota           


Jin Chen


Xishuangbanna Tropical Botanical Garden

Yunnan, China   


Peter Crane

Carl W. Knobloch, Jr. Dean of the School of Forestry & Environmental Studies and Professor of Botany

Yale School of Forestry & Environmental Studies

New Haven, Connecticut


Gerard T. Donnelly

President and CEO

The Morton Arboretum

Lisle, Illinois


Kelby Fite

Vice President of Research, Bartlett Tree Research Laboratory

Bartlett Tree Expert Company

Charlotte, North Carolina   


William (Ned) Friedman

Director of the Arnold Arboretum of Harvard University and Arnold Professor of Organismic and Evolutionary Biology

The Arnold Arboretum of Harvard University

Cambridge, Massachusetts     


Matt Kramer

Research Director

Ball Horticultural Company

West Chicago, Illinois         


Greg Mueller

Vice President, Science and Academic Programs

Chicago Botanic Garden

Glencoe, Illinois               


Sara Oldfield

IUCN SSC Group Secretary/Chair and Biodiversity Consultant

Cambridge, United Kingdom 


Richard Olsen


The United States National Arboretum

Washington, DC


Remy Petit

Director of UMR Biogeco Research Unit, Population Geneticist

L'institut National de la Recherche Agronomique (INRA)

Cestas-Pierroton, France


Jeanne Romero-Severson

Professor, Department of Biological Sciences

University of Notre Dame  

Notre Dame, Indiana


Dan Struve

Professor Emeritus, Horticulture Ohio State

The Ohio State University  

Columbus, Ohio