Professional Development

Course List

  • Learn to identify the sedges, a diverse and ecologically important group of plants at The Morton Arboretum. (SOLD OUT) Two days: Thursday, May 30 and Friday, May 31, 2019, 9:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.
  • Build your skill set and learn about leading ideas in nature-based early childhood education in this one-day symposium for early childhood educators, administrators, and naturalists at The Morton Arboretum. Saturday, June 1, 2019, 8:30 a.m. to 3:00 p.m.
  • Learn to identify the common trees you see in local preserves or in your neighborhood at The Morton Arboretum. Thursday, June 6, 2019, 6:30 to 9:00 p.m.; Thursday, July 18, 2019, 9:00 to 11:30 a.m.; or Saturday, September 7, 2019, 8:00 to 10:30 a.m.
  • Learn the names and ecology of the wildflowers, sedges, rushes, and other plants that inhabit wetlands at The Morton Arboretum. Saturday, June 29, 2019, 9:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.
  • Learn the identification skills to manage, restore, or simply enjoy prairie habitats at The Morton Arboretum. (Registration opens May 21, 2019) Three Tuesdays, July 9 through July 23, 2019, 6:00 to 8:00 p.m.
  • Learn the essentials of wetland ecology and the vital management techniques necessary to maintain threatened wetland ecosystems at The Morton Arboretum. Two days: Wednesday, July 10, 6:30 to 8:30 p.m., and Saturday, July 13, 2019 8:00 a.m. to 12:00 p.m.
  • Learn to identify the common trees you see in local preserves or in your neighborhood at The Morton Arboretum. Thursday, June 6, 2019, 6:30 to 9:00 p.m.; Thursday, July 18, 2019, 9:00 to 11:30 a.m.; or Saturday, September 7, 2019, 8:00 to 10:30 a.m.
  • Gain the knowledge and skills you need to share the natural world with others in this intensive workshop format at The Morton Arboretum. July 29, 2019, 12:00 p.m. Online materials become available. Four days, Saturday through Tuesday, August 10 through 13, 2019, 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.: In-person sessions meet.
  • The Certified Interpretive Guide program from the National Association for Interpretation (NAI) is designed for anyone who delivers interpretive programs to the public. Four days: Monday, August 19 through Thursday, August 22, 2019 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
  • Go beyond the basics and improve your ability to identify the diverse and beautiful plants of the tallgrass prairie at The Morton Arboretum. Two days: Thursday, August 29, and Friday, August 30, 2019, 9:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.
  • World-renowned herbalist and healer Rosita Arvigo brings her wisdom to the world of forest therapy at The Morton Arboretum. Five days: Sunday, August 25 through Thursday, August 29, 2019 times vary.
  • Use your heart, mind and hands to partner with nature by exploring expressive art created from the forest in this five-day forest therapy immersion at The Morton Arboretum. Saturday, August 31 through Wednesday, September 4, 2019, times vary.
  • This one-day conference for green industry professionals and avid home gardeners will focus on the latest information and practice related to the selection and care of Midwestern trees, shrubs, and woody plants, as shared by leading designers and plant experts. Thursday, September 5, 2019, 8:30 a.m. to 3:30 p.m.
  • Learn to identify the grasses that add beauty and interest to the summer and fall landscape at The Morton Arboretum. Two days: Tuesday, September 10, and Wednesday, September 11, 2019, 9:00 a.m.to 4:00 p.m.
  • Chicago Wilderness will offer three winter sessions of the Midwest Ecological Prescription Burn Crew Member Training class at The Morton Arboretum. Two days: Saturday and Sunday, September 21 and 22, 2019, 8:00 a.m. to 3:00 p.m., or Thursday and Friday, October 3 and 4, 2019, 8:00 a.m. to 3:00 p.m.